Notes on the Effective Use of High-resolution Models including CAMs

With the height of the spring convective season approaching and the increased use of Convection Allowing Models (CAMs), I thought I would share some notes I made after taking the COMET “Effective Use of High-resolution Models” training course. I understand that this training is now recommended to NWS forecasters following the service assessment of the 2012 derecho, and I would encourage everyone to take the course. For those of you who haven’t had the chance to complete the course, I wanted to pass along some notes I put together for the NWS Raleigh staff. These notes are also a good companion to the NWS Raleigh Reflectivity Comparison Web Page.

Notes on the Effective Use of High-resolution Models including CAMs:
http://www.erh.noaa.gov/rah/science/rah.cam.effective.use.hi.res.notes.pdf

This entry was posted in Convection, NWP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Notes on the Effective Use of High-resolution Models including CAMs

  1. Jake GSP says:

    Nice summary! Also, I had not seen that feature of the RAH website before… I will keep it handy for future use at the office!

Leave a Reply

